top of page

Ski competition recap 2018


It’s been such an amazing ski season so far this year. British Columbia has had one of the best winters in memory. There has been endless supplies of powder. All of my new gear has been working fantastic in these cold, snowy conditions. This year I have been really pleased with my progression thanks to working with my coaches on the Red Mountain Freeski Team. My form has been strong and now my aggressiveness and confidence in my skiing has been matched, thus making me the strongest and the most outstanding skier I have ever been. This year was my first year competing in the 15-18 category. I was nervous to see how my skiing compared with the other girls in this category, but I was excited at the idea of being able to ski and meet all the amazing female skiers. I have done a few freeski comps and am currently ranked in 5th place overall in North America.

The Red Mountain Canadian Open Freeski Competition was my first competition in the 15-18 category which is a big jump up in skiing level from 12-14. I came into this competition with the goal of top seven and skiing to my potential. The weather throughout the whole competition proved challenging; during some runs you couldn’t see the bottom of the venue, while during others it was sunny. In qualifications I put down a solid run which landed me in the top spot out of 22 girls. I was very excited and slightly surprised with myself to get that result. I went into finals thinking that I would try my best and as long as I did that I would have no regrets. I stomped my run and stayed in first place. I had surpassed all of my goals and I won with everyone else having clean runs. It was one of my best competitions.

The second comp that I did this year was the Kicking Horse Freeski competition. This wasn’t my best competition, but it was a great learning experience in terms of choosing lines for my run. I crashed in my finals run, which put me into ninth place.

The Big White Freeski Competition was my my most recent comp this season. I put down all that I had and I came in second place. The weather the whole weekend was terrible. The wind wasn’t like anything that I had experienced before. This was a small regional competition but the venue was really exciting, with a lot of options.

Over the next few weeks I am working on a video edit with my dad, who has produced many videos in the past. I hope it will exemplify my confidence, style and the crazy fun I have skiing! I am also focused on my training for the upcoming mountain bike DH race season. This year I will be doing the full BC Cup and National Series. We’re planning a two-week trip to Moab in March and I can’t wait to get on my bike.

bottom of page