top of page

My first downhill bike race


This past month I drove down to Spokane, Washington for the bike race at Beacon Hill. The hill is more of a mound that you push your bike up, But who am I to complain? In Rossland, we were still skiing.

The first day's race course was not really a downhill trail, it was more a flowy jump line trail. That was my first downhill bike race I had ever done, so I decided to enter into beginner girls. I was the only one.

That day's race I was really nervous but also excited, I was trying something new. There is a certain rush you get from doing something new for the first time. I had a good run and came first because I was the only person. After that race, I decided to race the category up because I might as well race against people and even if it means I come last.

The second day's course way definitely more of a downhill course. It was way more technical. I was more nervous for this race because It had more consequences If I fell. I was having a great run until the very bottom part of my run. I got off line and went off a drop that I didn't know was there, which lead to me going over my bars. I still managed to come out with a second that day out of 6 girls.

I have already fallen in love with downhill mountain biking, which is why I joined the SSGR (Seven Summits Gravity Racing team) in Rossland. I am the only girl doing the downhill races and that keeps me motivated all the time...and riding with all the fast boys. I am going to do as many BC cup races that I can. I can't wait to see what else biking will bring me.

bottom of page